7th Annual General Meeting

The Academy of Engineering, Singapore held its seventh Annual General Meeting (AGM) in September 2017, at the Institution of Engineers, Singapore.

During the AGM, Professor Freddy Boey presented the Secretary’s report to the meeting for comments.

Members noted that a paper on “Engineers For The Future” had been tabled in collaboration with SAEng by the special Task Force set up by IES College of Fellows for the project on study of policies and strategies to revive students’ interest in engineering. The paper was adopted by the Academy and has since been uploaded on the Academy’s website for comments by all Fellows.

They were also updated that the Ministry of Education (MOE) had approved the proposed Engineering doctorate programme by the NUS Faculty of Engineering and NUS plans to admit the first batch of EngD students in January 2018. In addition, NUS will visit industries to identify suitable companies where candidates can be recruited for the Engineering doctorate programme, as highlighted by Academy President Professor Cham Tao Soon.

Regarding the Academy Expert Groups, members acknowledged that the two pertaining to Cybersecurity and Land Transportation had identified the issues and proposed recommendations for which the respective papers had been uploaded in the Academy’s website for comments by all Fellows. These are:

• Singapore’s Cybersecurity Landscape by Dr Lee Shiang Long
• Improving Sustainability in Transport Systems for Singapore by Professor Lee Der-Horng

President Cham requested for comments and suggestions on the projects presented in the Secretary’s report, for which the Fellows gave their endorsement without any amendment. The same was done for the Treasurer’s report presented by Professor Chan Eng Soon.

Professor Brian Lee and Er. Tan Ee Ping will continue to serve as Honorary Auditors for a term of two years as endorsed by the members. Members also affirmed and approved the re-appointment of the current Executive Committee members for a term of two years, for which Professor Andrew Nee Yeh Ching will take over as Treasurer from Professor Chan.

To conclude, President Cham emphasised the importance of succession planning and introducing new blood to the Committee and requested that Fellows nominate young Fellows to be elected as Committee members.