

SUMMARY OF 9th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING SINGAPORE (SAEng) TUESDAY, 24th SEPTEMBER 2019, 5.30PM VENUE: THE INSTITUTION OF ENGINEERS, SINGAPORE

1 PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

1.1 President welcomed and thanked all Fellows for taking their precious time to attend the meeting. President went through the agenda for the AGM for the meeting's information.

2 SECRETARY'S REPORT

2.1 The Secretary's report was presented to the meeting for comments.

President requested that Fellows to continue nominating young actors in the academia and industry for SAEng Fellowship.

2.2 President encouraged all Fellows to take some time from their busy schedule to contribute to the Academy's projects and activities, and requested the meeting for comments and suggestions on the projects presented in the report. Fellows endorsed the Secretary's report without any amendment.

3 TREASURER'S REPORT

- 3.1 The Treasurer's report on the Academy's financial status for year ending 31 December 2018 was presented to the meeting for comments.
- 3.2 President informed that the Academy's financial position was healthy and that he will write to the Fellows for donations to the Academy after the Academy's IPC status is renewed. President hoped that SAEng reserves could be increased to \$\$100,000.
- 3.3 With regard to SAEng annual newsletter, President felt that maintaining the current small quantity of 200 hardcopies would be appropriate for distribution to stakeholders.



3.4 President requested the meeting for comments on the Treasurer's report. Fellows endorsed the Treasurer's report without any amendment.

4 ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- 4.1 The following nominees were proposed for the election of Executive Committee Members:
 - i. Prof Cham Tao Soon President
 - ii. Prof Louis Phee Secretary
 - iii. Prof Cheong Hee Kiat Treasurer
 - iv. Prof Yeoh Lean Weng Ex-officio President IES
 - v. Er Chong Kee Sen Ordinary Committee Member
 - vi. Prof Chong Tow Chong Ordinary Committee Member
 - vii. Prof Chou Siaw Kiang Ordinary Committee Member
 - viii. Prof Hang Chang Chieh Ordinary Committee Member
 - ix. Prof Lee Der-Horng Ordinary Committee Member
 - x. Dr Lee Shiang Long Ordinary Committee Member
 - xi. Prof Liu Bin Ordinary Committee Member
 - xii. Prof Andrew Nee Yeh Ching Ordinary Committee Member
 - xiii. Mr Seah Moon Ming Ordinary Committee Member
 - xiv. Prof Tan Thiam Soon Ordinary Committee Member
- 4.2 Mr Gan Boon Jin and Prof Lock Kai Sang volunteered for the Honorary Auditor nomination for the new term.
- 4.3 Fellows approved the election of the above Executive Committee Members and Honorary Auditors for the new two-year term.

5 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

- 5.1 President requested all Fellows for nominations of young Fellows to be elected as Committee members for succession planning and introduce new blood to the Committee.
- 5.2 President requested the meeting for suggestions and proposals for the Academy to build linkages with South East Asian academies such as those in Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia. At the same time, the Academy can also consider extending its reach to north Asian counterparts when there are opportunities.