

1

## SUMMARY OF 7<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING SINGAPORE (SAEng) TUESDAY, 19<sup>th</sup> SEPTEMBER 2017, 5.30PM VENUE: THE INSTITUTION OF ENGINEERS, SINGAPORE

# PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

1.1 President welcomed and thanked all Fellows for taking their precious time to attend the meeting. President went through the agenda for the AGM for the meeting's information.

## 2 SECRETARY'S REPORT

2.1 The Secretary's report was presented to the meeting for comments.

President updated that the NUS Faculty of Engineering plan to visit industry to identify suitable companies and recruit candidates for the engineering doctorate programme.

The meeting noted that the expert groups had identified the issues and proposed recommendations for the following areas of which the paper had been uploaded in the Academy's website for comments by all Fellows:

- 1) Singapore's Cybersecurity Landscape Dr Lee Shiang Long
- 2) Improving Sustainability in Transport Systems for Singapore Prof Lee Der-Horng
- 2.2 President requested the meeting for comments and suggestions on the projects presented in the report. Fellows endorsed the report without any amendment.

## 3 TREASURER'S REPORT

- 3.1 Prof Chan presented the financial statements for year ending 31 December 2016 to the meeting for comments.
- 3.2 President expressed his appreciation and thanks to IES for maintaining the financial records for the Academy and support towards the preparation of the financial statements for renewal of the Academy's IPC status.
- 3.3 President requested the meeting for comments on the Treasurer's report. Fellows endorsed the Treasurer's report without any amendment.



4

5

### ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND HONORARY AUDITORS

- 4.1 The following nominees were proposed for the election of Executive Committee Members and Honorary Auditors:
  - 1. Cham Tao Soon President
  - 2. Low Teck Seng Vice President
  - 3. Freddy Boey Secretary
  - 4. Yoon Soon Fatt Assistant Secretary
  - 5. Nee Yeh Ching, Andrew Treasurer
  - 6. Edwin Khew Ex-officio, President IES
  - 7. Chan Eng Soon Ordinary Committee Member
  - 8. Cheong Hee Kiat Ordinary Committee Member
  - 9. Chong Kee Sen Ordinary Committee Member
  - 10. Chong Tow Chong Ordinary Committee Member
  - 11. Chou Siaw Kiang Ordinary Committee Member
  - 12. Hang Chang Chieh Ordinary Committee Member
  - 13. Seah Moon Ming Ordinary Committee Member
  - 14. Tan Thiam Soon Ordinary Committee Member
  - 15. Brian Lee Honorary Auditor
  - 16. Tan Ee Ping Honorary Auditor
- 4.2 Members approved the election of the above Executive Committee Members and Honorary Auditors for a term of 2 years.

#### ANY OTHER BUSINESS

5.1 President requested Fellows for nominations of young Fellows to be elected as Committee members for succession planning and introduce new blood to the Committee.